Friedrich-Wilhelm-Award 2021


Christina Schwanen and Laura Zieger of the Institute for Geology and Geochemistry of Petroleum and Coal were awarded the Friedrich-Wilhelm-Award 2021 in recognition of their outstanding academic achievements.


Christina Schwanen was honoured for her master thesis about the analysis of microplastics in the environment. In November 2020, Christina Schwanen started her PhD in the Organic Environmental Geochemistry Group at LEK.

Dr. Laura Zieger, who is currently working as a PostDoc at the LEK, was awarded for her dissertation about the depositional environment of Bolsovian coals from the Ruhr Basin.

Further information about the Friedrich-Wilhelm-Award 2021 and the two awardees can be found here.